4th  Census of Minor Irrigation Schemes (2006-07)

Water Resources Informatics Division, NIC completed the Computerization of 3rd Minor Irrigation Census as a sponsored project of Ministry of Water Resources. The Census covered approximately 20 million minor irrigation structures classified under five types of minor irrigation schemes, namely Dugwell, Shallow Tubewell, Deep Tubewell, Surface Lift Schemes and Surface Flow Schemes. NIC has compiled the census data for 33 States and UTís.

MoWR has started the 4th Census of Minor Irrigation Scheme with reference year 2006-07. NIC has taken up the Computerization of the Census work as a paid project. A MOU has been signed between NIC & MoWR to implement the computerization. Shri M. Moni, DDG (NIC) and Shri A.K.Yogi, ADG (MoWR) has signed the MOU.

The "Data Entry Software" was released to the states in a workshop conducted at New Delhi on 29th, January 2008. The Manual along with software CD were handed over to all the states officials present in the workshop. Different states are in the different level of field work and computerization.